Tags

, , ,

two-ply shetland wool, preparing for dying.

two-ply shetland wool, preparing for dying.

This Shetland wool is about 3 years old.  I washed and carded it, but never really did anything with it.  Not because of laziness, but because I am very busy.  (That’s my story and I am sticking to it)

Chained to control tangling

Chained to control tangling

So I spun up a lot of the plain white undyed wool.  I get bored quickly, so I typically will dye the wool before spinning, but I decided I wanted to do something different with this one.

How to chain

How to chain

In the back of my head I plan to do some long repeats with one hank, and shorter ones with the other hank.  Now, if I was planning it better, I would have dyed the single-ply yarn this way, then ply’d the two colours together.  however, this should work.

Pulling loop through

Pulling loop through

Whatever project I have planned will have one section with long repeats, and another section with shorter repeats.  now, I have to decide on a colour scheme, on how many colours to have, and on what the project will actually be.  My go-to plan is either an 8-sided beret, or socks knit two-at-a-time from the toe up.  Or mittens — but that thumb-thing keeps getting in the way.

I’ll have to see what the finished dyed wool tells me it wants to be when it grows up.

 

completely chained

