A timely post. Thank you.

The "H" Word

broken heartMy most recent posts were about compassion fatigue – the first was on recognizing compassion fatigue, and the second was on what to do (or not do) when you are experiencing compassion fatigue. And then you may have noticed, this blog has been quiet for a little over a month. I think I can safely say that I had been experiencing some compassion fatigue myself. And so as I was dealing with life, I did not take time to write. I probably should have. However, as I was doing some research for the last two posts, I came upon some information that really caused me to stop and think. I came across a term that I had not heard before (although apparently it has been around for a while)- “vicarious trauma”.  This term was used as another descriptor for compassion fatigue. At first I thought “No, that just doesn’t…

View original post 993 more words

