I have written my mother-in-law’s story from the immigration of her grandparents to her grandchildren. It was written in three parts … the historical fiction, in which I took liberties with the known facts, including sidebars delineating what is known and what I imagined … the Picture Pages which included family photos … the dry boring stuff only a genealogist would love.

Maybe someone should write that down...

REALLY?

I’ve spent years chasing my ancestors thru wet cemeteries, musty boxes and up family trees.  I’ve dug around libraries, attics, and read books and webpages galore.  What I have learned from all this is simple…

no one else gives a hoot if they can’t somehow “relate” to those old names and numbers

Truth is, all that detective and scholarly work is really boring on paper.  My family used to roll their eyes when they saw me coming with yet another binder of “genealogy stuff.”

What to do ~what to do?  Let me tell ya…

We’re all connected with our families, not by pedigree or heirlooms, but through our common stories.  Names and dates have no real pull on our heartstrings.  But the joys and struggles of everyday life in another time can fascinate us like a flickering campfire.

Oh and a little tattle-taling or a dash of dishing-dirt doesn’t hurt either! 

Without stories our family tree efforts are just tidy (for some) stacks of…

View original post 861 more words

