Tags

, , , , ,

I’ve taken photos with the intention to share on this site, but never got around to it.  This time, I took the shots and immediately sit down with pen in hand (or phone in palm).

I was given a large amount of alpaca wool.  The owner sells breeding animals, and shears them because they need it.  The wool is mostly cream with some brown, and chopped up with a ton of second cuts. 

Not suitable for drop spindle use, but decent enough for the spinning wheel.  I used my hitchhiker because it give me a fast spin.  And because it takes up less room at the couch.

image

I typically spin finer than this, but this fiber just didn’t like it that fine.  I probably should have put more twist in the single, but it broke most often at those thinner sections.  Nice texture, and the short cuts make for a nice halo.  This wool is destined for a hat for the alpaca owner.

image

I fulled the yarn after plying it.  I wasn’t able to thoroughly wash the wool because of the shorts, but I washed the snot out of the yarn. 

By fulling, I used hot soapy water, hotter than I can stand and swished the yarn around.  When that water was clean, I shocked it with very cold water and agitation.  Then I took it outside to beat each quadrant on the table three or four times before hanging to dry.

See how balanced it is?  I don’t consciously consider the amount of twist, I just spin and ply until it looks good.  As one other spinner mentioned (and I’m stealing the phrase, but can’t give credit because I forgot her name) I’m a production spinner, not a process spinner.

