I couldn’t imagine spending the amount of time it would take to process an entire fleece by myself when I could be spinning instead.

This is always my problem, thus the reason I hold out until I barely have anything to spin. (Of course, nothing to soon means half a fleece!)

Any way, good explanation of the process of turning smelly grassy clumps into wonderful material with which to be creative.

Wool n' Spinning

There is a certain mysticism about washing fleece. At least there was to me as I entered the world of spinning yarn. I mean, I could (and did) watch YouTube videos, read books and blog posts, and talk to friends who had done it but until I actually took that leap myself, I felt that it was this mythical thing that only ‘the experts’ did seriously. Who would have thought that little old me could wash, prep and process raw fleece with my friends over coffee. Humina-what-now?!

Time was actually my initial hang-up with washing fleece. I couldn’t imagine spending the amount of time it would take to process an entire fleece by myself when I could be spinning instead. However, time and a little bit of elbow grease goes a long way with a nice quality fleece — the finished product just doesn’t compare when you know that you…

View original post 777 more words

